R35 GT-R with Steven Jones at the Helm Takes Back to Back Victories

TW09barnsie001 (Medium) Steven Jones and Ruari Souter-Dawson have taken back to back titles in the Modern Competition class of QUIT Targa West. Jones, who became the youngest winner of the event in 2008, took the win ahead Dean Herridge (WA)/Chris Murphy (QLD) and Alister McRae(WA)/Bill Hayes(WA)**. Competing in a Nissan GTR 35 Jones had an early lead snatched by Tony Quinn (QLD)/Naomi Tillett (SA), also in a Nissan GTR 35, during Leg 1 on Friday before re-taking the lead during Leg 2 on Saturday. Heading into Leg 3 this morning he had a 22 second lead and didn’t look back, taking the win and his second QUIT Targa West title. “There’s no way to explain this victory, it’s just hard work,” Jones said at the finish. “Those Queenslander’s (Quinn) they’re just like a dog with a bone, they don’t give up. We just had to keep out foot down all weekend and he kept us honest big time, but that’s what it’s all about you’ve got to have competition like that.” South Australian Kevin Weeks has taken his first QUIT Targa West title winning the Classic Competition class by 3 minutes 11 seconds. Weeks and co-driver Rebecca Crunkhorn made the switch from a modern Lamborghini Superleggera in QUIT Targa West 2008 to a 1975 Porsche 911 RSR in order to compete in the new Australian Classic Tarmac Competition. “It was challenging this weekend, weather wise but we had a great time out there,” Weeks said. “We’ve had a few goes at Targa West and we’ve been close a couple of times so we’re really pleased that we got one.” Rounding out the top three in the Competition Classic class were husband and wife team David Moir/Vicki Moir (Datsun 240Z) in second and Gary Tierney/David Carra (Porsche 911 Carrera RS) in third. 2c Mark Conacher (Nissan GTR 35) flew his brother Andrew in from Texas to compete in the Modern Challenge and it paid off with the pairing winning the class by 3 minutes 35 seconds in a Nissan GTR 35. Robert Darrington/David Abetz (Audi S4) finished the event in second (for the second time) and husband with husband and wife team, Razvan and Ioana Vlad, (Hyundia i30 SX CRDi Turbo Diesel) third. Rohan Green and Andrew Cutten (Porsche 911) took outright honours in the Classic Challenge class, winning by 11 minutes. Luke Reymond/John Reymond (Volkswagen Golf) and Martin Eyer/Sharon Eyer (Triumph Stag). ** An exhaust irregularity on the Nissan GTR 35 of Tony Quinn/Naomi Tillett (Car 90) has seen them excluded from the results of QUIT Targa West 2009. The Modern Competition class results have therefore changed and now see Alister McRae/Bill Hayes (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X) move onto the podium. Source : Quit Targa West

No comments:

Item Reviewed: R35 GT-R with Steven Jones at the Helm Takes Back to Back Victories Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Sean Morris